<u>Programme "EK Bharat Shrestha Bharat"</u> <u>Report of Handball Championship Boys & Girls Zone-2</u>

- **1. Introduction.** The Handball Federation of India and Department of Sports Telangana and Telangana Handball Association organized following two events for the EK Bharat Shreshtha Bharat Programme.
 - "Handball" Competition Zone 2 Boys Under 20 from 26 to 28 February 2020
 - "Handball" Competition Zone 2 Girls Under 20 from 26 to 28 February 2020
- 2. Small write up about the game. "Handball" sports discipline has been included in "EK Bharat Shrestha Bharat" programme of Department of Sports. The Competition matches of Boys Under 20 Zone 2 and Girls Zone Under 20 were organized at Gochibowli Indoor Stadium Hyderabad, Telangana from 26th to 28th February 2020 as part of Ek Bharat Shrestha Bharat programme.
- **3.** <u>Inauguration.</u> The Sh. A. Jagan Mohan Rao Guru Vice President of Handball Federation of India and President Telangana Handball Association, Smt. Srilatha Reddy Guru Dy. Director, Sports Authority of India, Hyderabad and Sh. A. Venkateshwar Reddy Guru, Dy. Director, Sports Authority of Telangana State was the Chief Guest for the inauguration of the events. In his welcome address the Sh. A. Jagan Mohan Rao welcomed all the players and officials from different states and gave thanks to the Hon'ble Prime Minister for this very innovative programme for the unity of the country. There was participation of local/district/state officials of the sports department.
- **4.** The children of the State performed welcome songs and folk dances of Telangana in their colorful folk dance dresses. People took keen interest in the activity and appreciated the Ek Bharat Shrestha Bharat Programme.
- 5. <u>Participating States.</u> The Competition was held between the teams of Paired States as follows:-
- Boys Under-20 Zonal 2 Competition

1.	Haryana :	Telangana
2.	Andman & Nicobar	: Lakshdweep
3.	Gujarat	: Chhattisgarh
4.	Bihar	: Tripura & Mizoram

- Girls Under 20 Zonal 2 Competition
- 1. Haryana : Telangana
- 2. Maharashtra : Odissa
- 3. Uttrakhand : Karnataka
- 4. Kerala : Himachal Pradesh
- 6. <u>Participants.</u> 53 Boys (Players), 56 Girls (Players) and 14 officials/coaches participated in the two events. In addition a number of 7 Technical Officials were engaged for successful conduct of the competition. Sports Apparel was given to 130 participants.

7. <u>Conduct of the competition and Results</u>.

- a) Winner of the "Handball" Competition Zone 2 Boys Under 20:- Haryana and Telangana.
- b) Winner of the "Handball" Competition Zone 2 Girls Under 20:- Haryana and Telangana.

- 8. <u>Closing ceremony</u>. All the participants including the visiting dignitaries expressed their gratitude to the Sh. A. Jagan Mohan Rao Guru Vice President of Handball Federation of India and President Telangana Handball Association, Smt. Srilatha Reddy Guru Dy. Director, Sports Authority of India, Hyderabad and Sh. A. Venkateshwar Reddy Guru, Dy. Director, Sports Authority of Telangana State was the Chief Guest for the closing of the events. Sh. A. Jagan Mohan Rao, thanked Hon'ble Prime Minister for the concept of Ek Bharat Shrestha Bharat which encouraged the youth of diverse culture and Paired States to forge better understanding and strengthen the National Integration. The events were witnessed by large number of spectators.
- 9. **Publicity & Branding**. The venue branding was Adequate. The event was covered extensively in the print and electronic media which had a very positive impact relating to the concept of EK Bharat Shrestha Bharat through the sports activities.
- 10. **Boarding & Lodging.** The arrangements were made for participating boys and girls separately in good hotels also Technical Officials. Boarding arrangement was very Good.
- 11. **Impact.** As per the feedback from the players and management good/excellent facilities both for stay and food were provided to them. The players from all the participating paired States/UTs were extremely happy to be together for better understanding of culture, food habits and other related issues and this opportunity has made them the friend forever.



Photographs of Hanball Championship Zone-2

Telangana-Haryana clinch boys, girls title in handball tournament

Hyderabad: The 12-member combined team of Telangana and Haryana hogged limelight by emerging champions in both the boys and girls finals of the 2nd Ek Bharat Shrest Bharat Handball Tournament held at the Gachi-

ş

bowli Stadium here on Friday. The teams that won the Ek Bharat Shrest Bharat Handball Bharat Shrest Bharat Handball Tournament will now take part in the tournament scheduled to be held in Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh, in April. In Boys final, Telangana /Haryana overcame a tough chal-lenge from Gujarat/Chhattisgarh team to clincha 39-37 win. While in Girls final Telangana (Hanyana

in Girls final, Telangana/Haryana defeated the combined team of Kerala/Himachal Pradesh 20-10.

The three-day tournament which began on February 26 wit-nessed the participation of play-ers from 11 States. The combine



12-member team of two States comprised to 6 players from each State.

State. Jagan Mohan Rao Arisana-palli, vice president of Handball Federation of India and chair-man of the Premier Handball League was the chief guest of the event. Handball Senior Coach Shivaji

Sindhu, State Handball Associa-tion General Secretary Pawan Kumar, Indian Handball Coach Madan Kumar, Hockey Coach Ravikumar, Sports Authority of India Coach Mustafa, Archery Coaches Pranitha, Gokul and Handball Association Referee Handball Association Referee Board Convenor Indrasena Reddy graced the occasion.

00

HEANS CINDIA Sat, 29 February 2020 https://epaper.thehansindia.com/c/49474193



ఈనాడు, హైదరాబాద్: ఏక్ భారత్ శ్రేష్ట్ భారత్ హ్యాండ్బాల్ టోర్నీలో తెలంగాణ- హరియాణా జట్టు 'డబుల్' సాధించింది. బాలురు, బాలికల విభాగంలో విజే తగా నిలిచింది. తెలంగాణ నుంచి ఆరుగురు.. హరి యాణా తరపున ఆరుగురు క్రీడాకారులు ఒక జట్టుగా

ఆడారు. బాలుర ఫైనల్లో తెలంగాణ- హరియాణా 39-37తో గుజరాత్- చత్తీస్గఢ్మై నెగ్గింది. బాలికల ఫైనల్లో తెలంగాణ- హరియాణా 20-10తో కేరళ- హిమాచల్డదే శ్ పై గెలిచింది. భారత హ్యాండ్బాల్ సంఘం ఉపాధ్య క్షుడు జగన్మోహన్రావు విజేతలకు ట్రోఫీలు ఇచ్చారు.